Visa-Exempt Entry
TO TAIWAN (Rep. of China)

Update: 2012-09-10

This information page is a simplified version for Austrian, Slovenian and Croatian citizens. For other nationalities please refer to the website of Bereau of Consular Affairs.


Countries eligible for Visa-exempt entry:

The nationals of the following countries are eligible for the visa exemption program, which permits a duration of stay up to 90 days: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.K. , and Vatican City State.

The nationals of the following countries are eligible for the visa exemption program, which permits a duration of stay up to 30 days: Australia, Malaysia, Singapore, U.S.A..


  1. a passport with validity of at least six months upon entry .

    visa-exempt entry only applies to foreign visitors holding formal passports (i.e. ordinary, official/service and diplomatic passports), not including those holding emergency, temporary, other informal passports or travel documents.

  2. a confirmed return air/sea ticket or an air/sea ticket and a visa for the next destination, and a confirmed seat reservation for departure.

  3. non-criminal record and not prohibited by the local authorities to enter the R.O.C.

Duration of stay:

  1. Max. 90 days. (Please check the entry stamp immediately after you get it from the immigration officer)

  2. The duration of stay starts from the next day of arrival and is not extendable. Foreign visitors must depart by the end of the said duration.

  3. Visa-exempt entry cannot be converted to other types of visas

Ports of entry:

Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport, Taipei Songshan Airport, Keelung Harbor, Taichung Airport, Taichung Harbor, Kaohsiung International Airport, Kaohsiung Harbor, Magong Airport, Taitung Airport, Hualien Airport, Hualien Harbor, Kinmen Airport, Shuitou Harbor and Fuao Harbor.



According to the Regulations for Exit of Draftees Article 14: For a draftee having maintained his household registration in Taiwan and has at the same time the status of double nationalities shall enter into and depart from Taiwan by presenting his ROC passport; any draftee entering into Taiwan by presenting a foreign passport and is duly subject to conscription shall be restricted from departing from Taiwan.

For conscription law please visit the website: